Skip to main content

You are here

Grade 5

Updated: Thursday, May 30

Value of the month: JOY

 

ONE MORE WEEK OF HOMEWORK! The class will have homework Tuesday - Friday of this week.

NO MORE IRJs -- for some reason, the hard-working 5th grade decided that they'd had enough of reading responses until next year.

 

Have a great week!

 

Click on this link to find important documents pertaining to fifth grade this year:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/11RU6qOgVMDWx9si269EzjrZP23fiXiFr

 

Please click here to see pictures of 5th graders at work and play.

FIND PICTURES FROM LAKE PLACID THROUGH THE ABOVE LINK.

Tuesday, May 28 -- Celebrate June birthdays at LS Assembly (8:00)

Wednesday, May 29 -- Celebrate July birthdays at LS Assembly (8:00)

Thursday, May 30 -- Celebrate August birthdays at LS Assembly (8:00)

Friday, June 7 -- LS Field Day

Wednesday, May 29 -- Unit 7 vocabulary test

Thursday, May 30 -- Math check-in (geometry/angles); Book projects due
Important Links

Google Drive click here

Google Classroom click here

Khan Academy click here

Quizlet (Word Wisdom Unit 7, Lesson 1) click here

Quizlet (Word Wisdom Unit 7, Lesson 2) click here

Quizlet (Word Wisdom Unit 7, Lesson 3) click here

Click here to access to Scholastic Book Wizard Website.

 

David Levine                    dlevine@stanwichschool.org               Homeroom

Daniel Combatti               dcombatti@stanwichschool.org          Science 

Irene Brun                         ibrun@stanwichschool.org                 Spanish   

Ann Ambrogio                  aambrogio@stanwichschool.org         P.E.

Christopher Cardarelli      CCardarelli@stanwichschool.org         P.E.

Emily Sullivan                    esullivan@stanwichschool.org            Art

Caroline Worra                 cworra@stanwichschool.org               Music/Drama

Kreg Gotschall                  kgotschall@stanwichschool.org          Music/Drama

Hilliary Schranze               hschranze@stanwichschool.org           Music/Drama

Jeff Magliola                     jmagliola@stanwichschool.org            Technology

Beth Kiefer                       bkiefer@stanwichschool.org                Library

Math: We have begun work on our last topic of the year, angles! PLEASE BE SURE YOU HAVE SEEN AND SIGNED YOUR CHILD'S UNIT 12 MATH TEST ON PERCENTAGES.

Reading: Our Fantasy/Mystery will be finishing up with an independent project based on the books we read. Students are finishing either The Phantom Tollbooth or From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler. We're gearing up for our final reading evaluations of the year, so be sure students are reading and logging each week. Students are working on their final book projects which are due next Thursday, May 30.

Writing: Students should be working on revising their research reports/informational pieces on ancient India. They should have their final draft completed by 

Language Arts: Our last vocabulary test will be on words from Unit 7 of Word Wisdom. We will be sharpening up some last minute grammar skills in the last few weeks of school.

Science: Students are forming groups to work on ideas related to technological innovations which could make the world a better place.

Social Studies: In addition to doing more research on topics already discussed, students will be looking at some current events to learn about what's going on in their world today.

Values: The value of joy will be the focus for the month of May.

Spanish: During the month of May students will learn about Mexico.